Arkansas House Bill 1800 requires all Arkansas roofing contractors to register with the Residential Contractors Committee (effective January 2022).
Among other requirements, a surety bond is needed to complete an Arkansas roofing contractor registration and obtain a license.
What are AR H 1800 bond requirements?
An Arkansas roofing contractor registration certificate requires a surety bond amounting to a minimum of fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000). To obtain this, a bonding company or surety company will evaluate applicants through an underwriting process to ensure the candidate is likely to meet contractual obligations. This process takes multiple factors into considerations, including an applicant’s financial history, credit score, industry experience, and past experience with surety bonds.
If you're required to obtain this bond, you can get a free surety bond quote here.
How does AR H 1800 impact Arkansas roofing contractors?
Those found operating without a roofing contractor registration will be issued a notice and hearing by the Contractors Licensing Board. If found guilty of operating without a license or with an expired license, a civil penalty of $100 - $400 will be fined for each day the violation occurred. Additionally, any registration applications pending during violation may be subject to cancellation.
What do you need to register as an Arkansas roofing contractor?
To obtain issuance of registration, qualifying roofing contractors operating in the state of Arkansas need to submit an application with the following information:
- The applicant's legal name, telephone number, business name and address.
- The name of all other persons authorized to act for the applicant's business and the registered agent of the applicant's business.
- Proof of workers' compensation.
- A statement that the applicant:
- Is over 18.
- Will comply with all federal, state, and local laws.
- Is or is not registered, certified, or licensed as a roofing contractor in another state.
- Has or has not been the subject of disciplinary action in Arkansas or another state as a roofing contractor.
- Proof of a surety bond (minimum $15,000).
Note that supplemental information may be required at the discretion of the Residential Contractors Committee. This includes—but isn't limited to—statements from your financial institutions and professional references.