What Is a Nevada Auto Dealer Bond?
One of the requirements for opening an auto dealership in Nevada is posting a Nevada auto dealer bond. This type of surety bond is required by the state, and it ensures that a licensed auto dealer operates in accordance with state laws and industry standards.
If a customer experiences a financial loss after doing business with a licensed auto dealer, then a claim can be made against a Nevada auto dealer bond.
How Does a Nevada Auto Dealer Bond Work?
A Nevada auto dealer bond is a contract between three parties.
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles is the state agency that acts as the obligee and requires the bond be posted.
The principal is the auto dealer required to obtain the bond by the state.
The surety company provides the bond to the dealership. When a valid claim is made, the surety company extends credit to the dealership to cover losses, but the dealer ultimately repays any successful claims.
Nevada Auto Dealer Bond Obligee Details
The obligee of a Nevada auto dealer bond is the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. The department is responsible for enforcing licensing and bond requirements for all auto dealers operating in the state. Licensed auto dealers may contact the obligee of their Nevada auto dealer bond through the following details:
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational and Business Licensing
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711
Are You Required to Get a Nevada Auto Dealer Bond?
Under Nevada state law, any person or entity that exchanges, purchases, displays for sale, or sells motor vehicles in exchange for compensation is defined as an auto dealer.
Regulations dictate that auto dealers must secure a Nevada auto dealer bond to comply with state laws. Auto dealer bonds in Nevada are necessary if you or your business falls into one of the following categories:
- Franchised auto dealer
- Used auto dealer
- Distributor of motor vehicles
How Do I Get a Nevada Auto Dealer Bond?
Getting a Nevada auto dealer bond starts with submitting an application. This can be done quickly and easily online. Once your information is reviewed and your personal credit score is checked, you are given a quote for your bond and instructions on how to complete the process.
What Does a Nevada Auto Dealer Bond Cost?
A bond of $100,000 is required for new and used auto dealers in Nevada, but this is not the price you pay for your bond. A Nevada auto dealer bond is priced as a percentage of the bond, ranging from 1 to 10 percent of the total. The percentage you pay is known as your bond premium, and it depends on several factors.
Surety companies take a close look at your personal credit history to determine the price of your bond, alongside details about your business.
Can I Get a Nevada Auto Dealer Bond with Bad Credit?
Auto dealers with a fair to low credit score may be seen as a higher risk than a dealer with a clean credit history and high score. Because of the increased risk, the premium paid for a Nevada auto dealer bond is higher for dealers with bad credit.
Nevada Auto Dealer Bond Term and Renewal
Auto dealer bonds in Nevada have the same expiration date as an auto dealer’s state license. Each Nevada auto dealer license expires one year from the date it is issued.
Renewal for an auto dealer license can be submitted online, and the surety company providing your Nevada auto dealer bond will send information and instructions on renewing the bond prior to its expiration date.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. You can get you approved for a bond regardless of your credit situation. However, the price will increase. You can apply to get an instant approval. As the largest writer of surety bonds in the U.S., we have access to high risk markets that many other agencies do not.
It only takes minutes, as we can approve you for your bond instantly online. You can get a no obligation quote on our website at any time.
No. An auto dealer bond does not protect you, it protects the public. However, you can protect yourself or your customers by getting fidelity bonds.