In the state of Georgia, general contractors performing work over $2,500 and all residential contractors need to obtain a license at the state level. The licensing process is handled by the Georgia State Licensing Board for Residential and General Contractors under the guidance of the Secretary of State.
Determine the Type of Contractor License You Need
- General Contractor License – allows work on private, commercial, industrial, public and other building projects that exceed $2,500. You cannot perform HVAC, plumbing, electrical or utility contracting work with this license.
- General Contractor Limited Tier License - permits the same work as a General Contractor, but is limited to contracts of no more than $500,000.
- Residential Basic License – allows contractor work on detached one-family and two-family residences, and one-family townhouses (no more than three stories in height), including their accessory structures.
- Residential Light Commercial License – permits work covered by the Residential Basic License plus work on multi-use commercial buildings (no more than four stories in height and 25,000 sq. feet in floor space), including accessory buildings and structures.
Access Georgia Contractor License Application Forms
All application forms can be accessed via Georgia Secretary of State’s website.
Fulfill Requirements and Obtain Required Documents
- Provide proof of net worth: all applicants are required to show financial responsibility.
General Contractors must submit a notarized CPA reference letter or a report from a CPA (both forms are provided in the application) that discloses a minimum net worth of $150,000.
General Contractor Limited Tier applicants must confirm a minimum net worth of $25,000.
Residential Basic & Light Commercial applicants can submit a bank credit form showing two years of banking history (provided in the applications). Another option is to submit a letter of credit, affirmation of minimum net worth, or a surety bond in the amount of $25,000.
- Obtain a Certificate of Insurance: you are required to provide proof of general liability insurance and submit it with your application.
General Contractor, General Contractor Limited Tier and Residential Light Commercial applicants must show proof of a minimum amount of $500,000 per occurrence. The amount for Residential Basic is $300,000 per occurrence.
- Provide proof of workers’ compensation: you must attach a certificate of workers’ compensation insurance if required to carry one by state law. For further information, please contact Georgia’s State Board of Workers’ Compensation.
- Provide work experience information: depending on the license, you will need to provide 1 to 4 years of relevant work experience. You must complete the Employment/Projects Affidavit and send it with your application.The form, as well as further information can be found within each application packet.
- Complete the Consent Form: all license applicants must complete the Consent Form provided in the applications and grant background check permission to the Board. The form must be send with the application.
If applying for a General Contractor License, General Contractor Limited Tier or Residential Light Commercial License you will also need one of the following:
- A college/university four-year degree in engineering, architecture, construction management, building construction (or other related field), plus one year of relevant work experience.
- Four years of work experience in a construction industry-related field.
- A combination of academic accredited courses and relevant work experience equaling at least four years in the aggregate.
Further information can be found inside the relevant application.
Note: In support of any of the above education/experience options that you choose, you will need to provide at least one recommendation letter from a registered architect or engineer (guidelines are provided in the application). If you are applying based on education, you will need to submit (in a sealed envelope) proof to the Board. This could be an official transcript, diploma, or certification.
Obtain Your Contractor License Bond
All applicants are required to provide proof of their net worth. However, Residential Basic & Light Commercial license holders may furnish a surety bond of $25,000 instead. The Georgia contractor license bond must be in the individual’s name or – if applying as a qualifying agent – in the business organization’s name.
Get Your Free Bond Quote
Get Your Free Bond Quote
Get a FREE Contractor License Bond Quote Today
Get free pricing from the top bond companies in the U.S.Get Your Free Quote No obligation | 100% Secure
Submit Your Georgia Contractor License Application
How to fill out your application:
Please complete your application plainly in ink.
Make sure you provide your email in the designated place in your application (under the Applicant Information section). The Board will send you important information via email regarding application status, confirmation, and exam details, and will contact you once your license has been issued.
Licensing and Application Fees
Payments (check or money order) must be made payable to the Georgia State Licensing Board for Residential and General Contractors and submitted with the application.
- $200 application fee (non-refundable)
- $96 Business and Law exam fee (payable to PSI)
- $106 NASCLA exam fee (payable to PSI)
General Contractor or General Contractor Limited Tier: Send your application along with all supporting documentation to:
STATE LICENSING BOARD FOR RESIDENTIAL AND GENERAL CONTRACTORS GENERAL CONTRACTOR DIVISION 237 Coliseum Drive Macon, GA 31217
Residential Basic or Residential Light Commercial: Send your application and all supporting documentation to:
STATE LICENSING BOARD FOR RESIDENTIAL AND GENERAL CONTRACTORS RESIDENTIAL CONTRACTOR DIVISION 237 Coliseum Drive Macon, GA 31217
To obtain your contractor license you need to pass two exams: Business and Law and NASCLA Construction exam.
Once your application is approved by the Board you will receive email confirmation and further details for scheduling and taking the relevant exams. You have up to one year after the confirmation email to take the exam. The exam is administered by PSI; for more information you can visit their website or contact them at 800-733-9167.