Nevada Individual Residential Care Bond

NevadaNevada enacted a new law concerning homes for individual residential care. The new law is referred to as AB 20 and requires homes for individual residential care to be licensed and to attain a surety bond in a quantity calculated by the amount of employees, just as present law requires for a variety of health care facilities. Under the present law, if a facility has less than seven staff, a $5,000 surety bond is required; a $25,000 surety bond is required if the home employs seven to 25 people; and a $50,000 surety bond is required for any more than 25 employees. These surety bonds must be issued and written by corporate sureties and have to be payable to the Aging Services Division for losses a patient has endured as a result of the licensee’s act or malfunction to act. The surety bond runs alongside with the license timeframe and can be terminated with 30 days notice to the Administrator of the Health Division under the present law.